What are the top 3 features of an emerging leader?

Last month I asked the question, via Twitter, “What do you think are the top 3 features of an emerging leader?”

Before I share the responses and my own thoughts, I will provide a brief context. At the time I was about to go into a coaching session with an enthusiastic young teacher, at the end of her NQT year, who was looking to develop her leadership skills in preparation for leading a core subject from September.

My personal view is that emerging leaders can appear at any level; you don’t have to be in a position of middle or senior management. During my experience working in the education sector I have seen many examples of emerging leadership, from observing a student teacher influencing staff and pupils to get behind, and take part in, his after-school music club; to a 2nd year teacher inspiring colleagues during her leadership of a residential trip. With both teachers, the key features were energy, enthusiasm and ideas.

The teacher I was coaching certainly had energy and enthusiasm, but she also had doubt and uncertainty, and an unhelpful abundance of ‘why should they listen to me?‘ This was purely down to her feeling inexperienced and lacking in some confidence. As we talked, she realised it wasn’t about having all the answers; she focused on the areas she did feel confident in and how she could build on this in practical terms. We put together a programme for the year and she left feeling more assured and more certain about how she could tackle (and enjoy!) her new leadership role.

Turning now to the responses to my question, thanks to @pkainsworth, @helenbett, @camlecolorado and @stevewn for sharing your thoughts. The common themes were having humility and energy. Others features suggested included:

  • empathy
  • moral values based on conviction
  • listening
  • visibility
  • integrity
  • entrepreneurial

I would suggest that many of these qualities and skills are reflected in Jo Owen’s Foundations of Leadership (see ‘How to Lead‘), which include:

  • manages upwards and supports others
  • is self-aware and adaptable
  • has drive / ambition
  • finds solutions
  • sells ideas
  • is loyal and reliable

Owen adds that as emerging leaders become leaders, they maintain these behaviours, as well as learn/develop new ones and in my next blog, Practising the Art of Leadership, I will explore these further.

But to conclude for now, my top 3 features of an emerging leader would be summarized by The Three I’s, though not for one minute am I suggesting leaders are selfish!…

  • Influencing (through skills/qualities such as empathy, listening and integrity)
  • Inspiring (with energy and enthusiasm)
  • Ideas (including being innovative and having an objective evaluation of own ideas as well as those of others)

I welcome your thoughts / experiences on this topic.

Image courtesy of graur razvan ionut /FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “What are the top 3 features of an emerging leader?”

  1. Jamie Portman Says:

    What a thought provoking post!

    Your sentiments behind the characteristics of emerging leaders is spot on. I agree, they often lack the confidence (maybe due to old, boring and traditional perceptions that you need 20 years experience to lead) and pose the question ‘why should they listen to me?’

    I also really like your summary of the 3 most important features of emerging leaders. For me, they encapsulate everything that I’m looking for in our ‘Developing Leaders Programme’ at my school. As an Assistant Head I am actively seeking the qualities that you write about in order to enhance them even further. I want them to think: ‘This is why they should listen to me.’

    Very interesting work!

    @JamiePortman

  2. squaretwocoaching Says:

    Jamie

    Thanks for your comments. I especially the fact that you want them to think, ‘this is why they should listen to me.’ I think that develops their self-reflection skills in a positive way.

    Debbie

Leave a Reply

