It’s a habit – I can’t help it!

28 Day Blog Challenge – Day 11

Do you have habits that you don’t like?

Do you repeatedly do the same things and ask yourself why?

Yesterday I set unrealistic expectations of myself and didn’t manage to achieve everything. In fact I went to bed feeling ill and knowing I’d overdone it. This has been a familiar story for me over my working life. Over the years I’ve recognized this, and have changed things, changed some habits so I don’t find myself in this same position on a regular basis. Yesterday I just slipped up!

I was reminded of Portia Nelson’s “Autobiography in 5 Short Chapters” from There’s a hole in my sidewalk

Chapter 1

I walk down the street

There’s a deep hole in the sidewalk

I fall in

I am lost … I am helpless

It isn’t my fault

It takes forever to find a way out.

Chapter 2

I walk down the same street

There is a deep hole in the sidewalk

I pretend I don’t see it

I fall in again

I can’t believe I am in this same place

But, it isn’t my fault

It still takes a long time to get out.

Chapter 3

I walk down the same street

There is a deep hole in the sidewalk

I see it is there

I still fall in …it’s a habit … but, my eyes are open

I know where I am

It is my fault

I get out immediately.

Chapter 4

I walk down the same street

There is a deep hole in the sidewalk

I walk around it.

Chapter 5

I walk down another street.

Bad habits can be difficult to break. It can take time. But if you recognize you have them, it’s a start. The next step is about asking yourself which small 1st step you can take to change this habit, so that one day you’ll find yourself walking down another street.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “It’s a habit – I can’t help it!”

  1. Isabelle Says:

    Debbie, it sounds like you have very good self awareness skills. I find it challenging to get rid of habits that are unhelpful. I think this is because it requires a bit of effort and time to get out of my comfort zone. Just being aware of our bad habits is already a big step forward.

    • squaretwocoaching Says:

      Yes, time and effort are big factors in the change process. Even if people have time, making the effort can be the bigger challenge.
      I think you’ve made a crucial point when you refer to your comfort zone. I believe habits lie in our comfort zones, even the bad ones!
      For me, it’s not seeing the change as such a big, impossible thing. Habits grow over time, so why should expect them to suddenly go away in an instant? It’s all about small positive steps.
      Thanks for your comments.

Leave a Reply

