The power of doing nothing

28 Day Blog Challenge – Day 27

How often do you do nothing?

We lead such busy lives, we rarely find time to switch off, take time out, unwind.

Perhaps a more important question to ask is: What does “doing nothing” mean to you?

For me it’s about one of 3 things:

  1. time out for reflection, usually about my coaching or my business
  2. time away from what I’m doing because I’m stuck with an problem and need a break from it
  3. resting time to recharge the batteries (mentally as well as physically)

The benefits I find are clarity of thought, ability to find solutions, being more creative, and having more energy.

My “nothing” usually involves going for a walk, finding a quiet space in the house, listening to music (which I don’t do often enough!), playing the piano, or doing housework!

What do you do to switch off?

When do you find it’s most beneficial?


(Photos: walker; music; floor cleaner)

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “The power of doing nothing”

  1. Nicky Kriel Says:

    For me doing nothing is choosing exactly to do what I feel like doing in that moment. Think I must do the the 28 Day Blog Challenge too. Nothing will never be the same again.

    • squaretwocoaching Says:

      Hi Nicky, thanks for sharing your thoughts on this.
      I like this take on doing nothing – it allows for spontaneity and flexibility.
      Yes, it has definitely been worth doing the 28 Day Blog Challenge. Let me know when you start and I’ll stop by!
      Regards, Debbie

Leave a Reply

