A postcard from the future

If you were to send yourself a postcard from the future, say a year from now, what would you like it to say?

  • What will be different about you?
  • What will your business / career look like?
  • What will have changed about your daily routine?
  • What challenges have you overcome?

… And what does this tell you about what you need to do over the next 12 months?

Although you won’t know exactly where you’ll be, you may well have goals, plans, dreams, or desires; and this is a good starting point!

So imagine what you in a year will be doing, and consider what advice you’d give yourself to achieve what you’ve achieved.

Some examples …

Hi (your name),

Business is going great guns. My clients are loving my newly developed service! I’m much more confident about delivering seminars, and am excited about moving to new premises in 3 months.

My advice? Keep believing you can do it and continue to learn from those around you.

Dear _____

I’ve figured out how to deal with the communication issues at work! I’ve enlisted the help of an expert, who helped me identify why our current systems weren’t working. We now have really effective communication strategies in place, staff are much happier, and there are far fewer misunderstandings.

Advice? Don’t try to do it all yourself. You’re not Wonder Woman / Superman. Asking for help is not a sign of weakness! Learn from it and add it to your skill set.

Hi _____

Feeling much fitter and healthier, and enjoying a well deserved break! Changing my diet has given me a lot more energy, which means I’m much more productive both at home and work. It wasn’t easy, but having small targets spread out over the year was the key success factor.

My main piece of advice: Start making small changes now, and don’t be hard on yourself if you lapse occasionally. It’s all progress, and you’ll get there!

So what would your postcard say?


(Photo courtesy of Anankkml)

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “A postcard from the future”

  1. Loi Says:

    I really love this idea! The visualisation aspects of it would be amazing!
    Thanks for a great idea

  2. steve riege Says:

    This is great. It fits with my question of “what do you want to be when you grow up?” If I use this to look back one year, I have so much to be thankful for. So many amazing things have happened that I would never have predicted. But, so much of what I had planned did come true. I need to work on a better balance of both planning, and also executing.

    • squaretwocoaching Says:

      Thanks for your comments, Steve. Useful insights, as always.
      Interesting to look back 1 year from the present to see what’s been achieved, even beyond what was originally planned.
      I like to do this periodically and think about what made the successes happen. Did they come from new skills, a current set of skills or a combination of the two? And what can I learn from that?
      I think planning and reflecting go hand in hand here!
      Regards, Debbie

Leave a Reply

